Liliana Maresca

Bilingual edition, Spanish/English.
Texts: María Gainza, Laura Hakel and Javier Villa
Graphic Design: Gastón Pérsico and Cecilia Szalkowicz
Translations: Ian Barnett

392 pages
Format: 26 cm x 21 cm
ISBN 978-987-673-279-6

This substantial volume recaptures the figure of an artist who was a catalyst for radical,
collective experiences in the years after the last military dictatorship in Argentina. Liliana
Maresca’s awareness of the artist’s place in society gave her work a revelatory power that
hugely impacted an artistic community committed to searching for new ways of communicating
and establishing social bonds. This publication on the life and work of an utterly unique artist
is the result of special research by the Museo de Arte Moderno de Buenos Aires, which was the
springboard for the 2017 exhibition The Keen Eye: Works 1982–1994. It includes an in-depth
essay by Javier Villa, a text by María Gainza, a chronology by Laura Hakel and a significant
body of previously unpublished images of works and documentary material.

‘In a country experiencing tensions at every step in its history, Maresca’s work garners
particular significance. For, while she experimentally explored the meaning of the image,
creation, and the artistic object, Maresca developed an interest in discourse, eloquence, and
the situation of enunciation. The work was just as important as the social and discursive
situation of the artist conveying a state of the world and a vision of the future. Maresca’s
awareness of the artist’s place in society gave her a fundamental relevance that had a huge
impact on her own artistic community, which, in the mid-1980s, was experimenting with new
ways of saying and creating art and community. ’

                                                                                                       Victoria Noorthoorn

The book is a dedicated publishing project of the Museo de Arte Moderno de Buenos Aires about the
artist Liliana Maresca. It is grounded in the retrospective, The Keen Eye: Works 1982–1994,
presented at the museum from 7 October until 5 November 2017.